Library Board of Trustees


To offer the resources and encouragement necessary to promote the joy of reading, increase awareness of the world, broaden cultural horizons, and foster life-long learning; to provide a comfortable and welcoming place for all members of the community. 


The D.A. Hurd Library has been a central part of the North Berwick community since it opened its doors in January 1928. The building and land that it sits on were donated to the town by Daniel Hurd in honor of his wife and parents, and because of his love of North Berwick.

The original building was expanded in 1987 to include a children's room, and to provide space for the growing collection of books. Today, the library shelves house nearly 35,000 items including books for patrons of all ages, large print materials, audio books, DVDs, magazines, newspapers, and primary source materials documenting the town’s history. The library provides outreach programs as needed to our senior citizens, the housebound and the schools in RSU#60.

Open six days a week, the library is governed by a 12-member volunteer Board of Trustees, managed by the Library Director, and staffed by five full or part-time employees. The D.A. Hurd library exists as a non-profit entity. Funding is provided by the town of North Berwick, endowment incomes, and gifts.


The Board meets 4 times per year:
2nd Thursday of the Month (January, March, June, October, November) in the library @ 6:30pm
Meetings are open to the public.

Staff Contacts

Name Phone
Beth Sweet (207) 676-2215

Board Members

Name Title
Jeff Fournier President
Nancy Sebert Vice President
Meleta Baker Secretary
Marcia Miller Treasurer
Linda Archambault Member
Margaret Allaire Member
Stacy Bradburn Member
Nancy Cotty Member
Amber Fournier Member
Lincoln Harrison Member
​Emilie Missud Member
Ben Philbrook Member